Dear School (A Letter to the Upcoming Season)

Hey. It’s been awhile. We haven’t talked to much over the summer except for those four books you made me read. And all those questions you had me answer. But other than that, we might as well have been on separate planets, me just chilling on earth, and you, who knows where. Mars? Jupiter? Krypton? No, Krypton blew up so you couldn’t have been there…

Anyway, we’ll be spending a lot of time together, starting next Monday. We’ll be best friends, or the bane of each other’s existence, depending on how much work you make me do. And I’ll just have to say, “I don’t hate school, school hates me,” for lack of a better explanation of my frustration.

It all begins again: stress, complex math problems, endless papers, disorganization whilst trying to be insanely organized, and of course the lugging of the thirty pound backpacks everywhere. Oh the joys.

Summer has been great. Busy but great. We’re best friends, but sometimes she can be boring and make me want to switch best friends again. She made me want to be friends with you, again. And I actually wanted to sometimes. (How sick is that??)

But she also makes me remember all the good things about you. All the inside jokes born from school lunches, all the inside jokes born from teachers inside the classroom, all the shipping of people that won’t ever work out, all the interesting lectures that made me never want to tear my eyes away, and all the deep discussions during class… they make me want to go back to you again. I’m starting to think school might actually be a good thing for me to take part in. You know, all that learning and stuff. Becoming a useful member of society. That sounds nice.

You can be really aggravating. All the stress and work can seem to be for nothing, but I know deep down it’s not. It’ll all be worth something someday, in one way or another. I know this year is going to be hard, but you know what? Bring it. I’m ready. (Kinda)

~Em

5 thoughts on “Dear School (A Letter to the Upcoming Season)

Leave a Reply

