Ugly : A Slam Poem

when did it happen
when was the moment when I realized
I wasn’t good enough
when did it happen
that I began to discover
how ugly I was
truly
when did I realize
that my previous expectations
and my false pride in myself
was nothing but an illusion
a lie
to keep me gratified
for such a short time
to think that I would ever be anything
but hideous

I remember
coming home from school
sometimes
after looking at all those pretty girls
make-up slathered on their face
covering up their real beauty
but I never guessed that
I thought it was all real
all I could think
between my tears
was
why don’t I look like that
why am I not that pretty

this world says
we’ll never be anything
but how we look on the outside
how dare we ever think we could be
anything more than this body we’ve been
taught will never be enough
for anyone

no

we are all so much more than that
external importance
physical perfection
these things don’t matter
in the end
all of that
the external
is going to go bad
and we’ll be remembered
for who we were
on the inside
not on the outside

maybe we should just take a minute
and remember
we are all beautiful
our external importance and physical perfection
is only the tip of the iceberg of our existence
it’s so much more than that

we are
so
much
more

~Em

1 Samuel 16:7 – “The Lord does not see as man sees: for the man looks at the outward appearance, but the Lord looks on the heart.”

2 thoughts on “Ugly : A Slam Poem

    1. Yeah, that’s actually one of my favorite verses. I didn’t mean that everyone should be narcissists, but I’ve just had some trouble not hating myself, which is also a version of pride. What I was trying to say, and I probably didn’t say it very well, is that we need to respect ourselves, but not think of ourselves too much. We shouldn’t be focusing so much on our physical appearance, because it’s what’s on the inside that matters to God, and should matter to us. Sorry if you thought I meant something different… 😦

      Like

Leave a Reply

