Wallflower

I’d prefer not to show myself,
to put myself out there
where my face can turn red
and my heart can pound fast
somewhere where there isn’t
protection, something to wrap myself in
to hide from it
to hide from everything
I’d rather sit and watch
where I can’t be trampled
by merciless toes
I just would rather sit and watch you enjoy yourself
but don’t get me involved in the insanity
because I’m a wallflower
and I prefer the wall

~Em

Quick update: I hit 30k words on my novel last night. Good good very good deal. 🙂

3 thoughts on “Wallflower

  1. That was Lynn’s poem for many, many years…and then she became a pastor’s wife and that aaaallll changed.

    Like

Leave a Reply

