Just a Girl

I’m just a small town girl
not made of anything special
just a little bit of sugar, spice
and given a whole lot of grace
I like to be told I’m talented
but I never believe it
I like to be told I’m pretty
but I don’t believe it
this isn’t self pity
don’t kid yourself
I’m not perfect
I know this very well
I screw up sometimes
and some days
I don’t have enough bravery to get out of bed in the morning
but the truth of the matter is
I do.
I get out of bed and go through the day
without having the strength
I don’t need to have people around me
telling me things to puff me up
so high that I can’t come down
I don’t need a ton of money
or a nice house or car
none of those things matter
I just want to do the things I love
with the people I love
for the One I love

~Em

11 thoughts on “Just a Girl

  1. Reblogged this on Squid's Cup of Tea and commented:
    I love this poem by Em over at Literary Moose so very much and wanted to share it with all of you. And, for good measure, throw in a couple lines from a dong by Holly Starr called Don’t Have Love.

    “You can have money,
    And cool friends,
    A ring on your left hand,
    But it’s never gonna be enough,
    If you don’t have love.”

    I think Holly Starr and Em have the right perspective. 🙂

    Squid

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

